*
Homepage

 

04/05 (Sat)

Closed Today

*
Records of Guanxi Region

Author: The Archives of Institute of Taiwan History

The development of Guanxi area began in 1791, when Wei Agui of Zhuqian Village arrived the east side of Xinpu. This collection comprises land records, personal contracts, licenses, and allotment agreements among devisees of the Zhang family of Hudu Village, as well as relevant documents about Wei Agui’s offspring. It is a source for understanding the development of Guanxi area, especially the developing trace of the Zhang family, the uniqueness of Hakka written language, and the early interactions between the plain aborigines and the Han settlers. Besides, these documents are precious for studying women’s life from the late Qing to the early Japanese colonial period.

*
IV. Conclusion

We can travel back in time and trace history by visiting the aged architectures in Dadaocheng, reminiscing the atmosphere of prosperous streets in the late Qing dynasty and the Japanese colonial period, retrospecting the clues in letters of Dadaocheng merchants in 20th century and investigating the textual and non-textual references that carried memories. In this time traveling special exhibit, in addition to introducing Zhuang-yi-fang Store, Guo-yi-mei Store, Jin-tai-heng Store,Qian-yuan Pharmacy and Lin-fu-zhen Storethere is also an introduction of other customers of Tai-yi-hou like San-yi-long in Vladivostok, Zheng-tai-mei in Singapore, Chang-ji Hong in Fuzhou, Chian-sheng-chuang in Hong Kong, etc. With these historical records, let us experience the joy of traveling back in time!


11F., South Wing, Building for Humanities and Social Sciences, 128, Sec. 2, Academia Rd., Nangang Dist., Taipei City 11529,
Taiwan Tel: +886-2-2652-5181 Fax: +886-2-2652-5184 【Contact us
Copyright © 2010 Institute of Taiwan History, Academia Sinica. All Rights Reserved